Mahakal Temple Ujjain

Ujjain,Madhya Pradesh. Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga is among the famous Hindu temples dedicated to Lord Shiva and is one of the twelve Jyotirlingams, which are supposed to be the most sacred abodes of Lord Shiva.
It is located in the ancient city of Ujjain in the state of Madhya Pradesh, India.

On the banks of River Kshipra, the city of Ujjain exists. It is also known as Indrapuri Amaravati, and Avantika.

Because of the number of golden towers of several temples, this town is also known as “Swarna Sringa.” One of the seven cities of deliverance or salvation, Avantika Nagar has 7 Sagar Teerthas, 28 teerthas, 84 SiddhaLingas, 25-30 SivaLingas, Ashtabhairav, Ekadasa Rudrasthana, temples for hundreds of deities, Jalakund and monuments are there.The temple is situated on the side of the Rudra Sagar lake.

The presiding deity, Lord Shiva in the lingam form is believed to be Swayambhu, deriving currents of power (Shakti) from within itself as against the other images and lingams that are ritually established and invested with mantra-shakti.

According to the Shiva Purana, once, Lord Brahma (the Hindu God of creation) and Lord Vishnu (the Hindu God of sustenance) had an argument, in terms of supremacy of creation. In order to test them, Shiva pierced the three worlds as a huge endless pillar of light, the jyotirlinga.

Lord Vishnu and Lord Brahma split their ways to downwards and upwards respectively to find the end of the light in either direction.

Ujjain City

Brahma lied that he found out the end, while Vishnu conceded his defeat. Shiva appeared as a second pillar of light and cursed Brahma that he would have no place in ceremonies while Vishnu would be worshipped till the end of eternity.

The jyotirlinga is the supreme formless-less reality, out of which Shiva partly appears.

The jyothirlinga shrines thus are places where Shiva appeared as a fiery column of light.

Mahakaleshwar Bhasma Aarti Booking

There are 64 forms of Shiva, not to be confused with Jyotirlingas.Each of the twelve jyothirlinga sites take the name of the presiding deity - each considered different manifestation of Shiva.At all these sites, the primary image is lingam representing the beginningless and endless Stambha pillar, symbolizing the infinite nature of Shiva.

Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga Temple Dharamshala Booking:

The twelve jyothirlinga are Somnath in Gujarat, Mallikarjuna at Srisailam in Andhra Pradesh, Mahakaleswar at Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh, Omkareshwar in Madhya Pradesh, Kedarnath in Himalayas, Bhimashankar in Maharashtra, Viswanath at Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, Triambakeshwar in Maharashtra, Vaidyanath at Deogarh in Jharkhand or at Baijnath in Himachal Pradesh, Nageswar at Dwarka in Gujarat, Rameshwar at Rameswaram in Tamil Nadu and Grishneshwar at Aurangabad in Maharashtra.

Mahakaleshwar Temple Timings

Rules to follow while visiting the temple for darshan:

Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga Dress Code

The shrine is revered as one of the 18 Maha Shakti Peetham.Shakti Peethas are shrines that are believes to have enshrined with the presence of Shakti due to the falling of body parts of the corpse of Sati Devi, when Lord Shiva carried it.

Each of the 51 Shakti peethas have shrines for Shakti and Kalabhairava. The Upper Lip of Sati Devi is said to have fallen here and the Shkati is called as Mahakali.

The Adyapeetha i.e., is the foundation of Sanskrit learning, ethics, knowledge or science and art had their initiation at this place.

  1. It is indeed the Triveni Sangam or learning of the three great things.
  2. The greatness of Ujjain city was enhanced by the Maurya kings as well as other dynasties.
  3. The great emperor Vikramaditya who began new era by starting a new way of counting the years, made Ujjain his capital.
  4. The temple is three-storeyed. In the lowest middle and uppermost parts are respectively installed the lingams of Mahakalesvara, Omkaresvara and Nagachandresvara.
  5. The pilgrims and the visitors can only have the glimpse of Nagachandresvara on the festive of Naga Panchami.
  6. A very large-sized Kunda named Koti Tirtha also exists in the temple-complex. The Kunda is built in the sarvatobhadra style.

The Kunda and its water both are treated as very celestial. On the path adjoining the stairs of the Kunda, may be seen many images representing the sculptural grandeur of the temple built during the Paramara period.

In the east of the Kunda is a large-sized Veranda in which there is the entrance to the path leading to the garbhagrha.
In the northern side of the verandah, in a cell, the images of Sri Rama and goddess Avantika are worshipped.

Related Posts

In the southern side of the main shrine, there stand many small Saivite temples built during the shinde regime among these the temple of Vrddha Mahakalesvara, Anadi Kalpesvara and Saptarshi are prominent and are the remarkable pieces of architecture.
The lingam of Mahakalesvara is colossus.The silver plated Naga Jaladhari and the inscribed and esoteric silver-plate covering the roof of the garbhagrha add extra grandeur to the shrine.
Besides Jyotirlinga, attractive and small-sized images of Ganesha, Kartikeya and Paravati can be seen in the garbhagrha.
All around the walls classical eulogies in the praise of Lord Siva are exhibited.
Comments are closed.